If you have a seatbelt violation, it may either affect your car insurance rates or not. That will only be determined by the state in which you live in and either it will be considered as a moving violation or non-moving violation. There is a possibility that your car insurance rates will increase if it will be a moving violation since it will be included to your driving record, while committing a non-moving violation will not affect your rates considering that you already paid for them.
In order for you to determine if a seatbelt violation will alter your car insurance rates, you may check your driving record from the Department of Motor Vehicles in your state. However, you are required to pay a small amount for you to pull up your record, but that don’t matter since it will prepare you on your application for your car insurance.
Seatbelt violation in most states does not consider it as a moving violation, rather it is considered as a non-moving violation. These states are Alabama, Arizona, Delaware, Minnesota, Indiana, Michigan, Nevada, and Missouri.
And for other states that consider seatbelt violation as a moving violation are Connecticut and Massachusetts. In the state of Connecticut, failure to use a seatbelt will cause both the driver and the passenger a fine and the violation will be added in the driver’s driving record which will be the same in the state of Massachusetts.
Since not most cars have seatbelts, there are exemptions to the rule. Vehicles that are made after the year 1963 are mandated to have a seatbelt as well as any vehicles that sellers or dealers are selling must have seatbelts that are properly working or else they will be considered responsible for the committed violation.
There are also vehicles that do not require seatbelts such as school buses, emergency vehicles, and mass transit. Moreover, motorcycles and postal vehicles are also not included in the seatbelt violation.
There are also some certain circumstances or medical conditions wherein you are not required to wear seatbelts if your physician has told you not to do so.
It is always the driver’s responsibility to make sure that any individual whose ages are 7 to 15 years old always wear seatbelts. And children whose ages are 6 years and below must be placed in a car seat that is according to their weight and age. But if the age is of 16 years old and older, it is already the responsibility of the individual to make sure that he/she wears a seatbelt all the time.
In case an accident happens and you failed to wear your seatbelt, it will probably affect the rate of your car insurance especially when you are the cause of the accident. It will also cause a lot of problem if there will be incurred injuries to the other person involved in the accident. You will just increase the rates of your insurance policy and you will only be making your driving record look bad.